The Enzyme Database

Your query returned 1 entry.    printer_iconPrintable version

Accepted name: (3S,6E)-nerolidol synthase
Reaction: (2E,6E)-farnesyl diphosphate + H2O = (3S,6E)-nerolidol + diphosphate
For diagram of acyclic sesquiterpenoid biosynthesis, click here
Glossary: (3S,6E)-nerolidol = (3R,6E)-3,7,11-trimethyldodeca-1,6,10-trien-3-ol
Other name(s): (E)-nerolidol synthase; nerolidol synthase; (3S)-(E)-nerolidol synthase; FaNES1
Systematic name: (2E,6E)-farnesyl-diphosphate diphosphate-lyase [(3S,6E)-nerolidol-forming]
Comments: The enzyme catalyses a step in the formation of (3E)-4,8-dimethylnona-1,3,7-triene, a key signal molecule in induced plant defense mediated by the attraction of enemies of herbivores [2]. Nerolidol is a naturally occurring sesquiterpene found in the essential oils of many types of plants.
Links to other databases: BRENDA, EXPASY, KEGG, MetaCyc
1.  Aharoni, A., Giri, A.P., Verstappen, F.W., Bertea, C.M., Sevenier, R., Sun, Z., Jongsma, M.A., Schwab, W. and Bouwmeester, H.J. Gain and loss of fruit flavor compounds produced by wild and cultivated strawberry species. Plant Cell 16 (2004) 3110–3131. [DOI] [PMID: 15522848]
2.  Bouwmeester, H.J., Verstappen, F.W., Posthumus, M.A. and Dicke, M. Spider mite-induced (3S)-(E)-nerolidol synthase activity in cucumber and lima bean. The first dedicated step in acyclic C11-homoterpene biosynthesis. Plant Physiol. 121 (1999) 173–180. [PMID: 10482672]
3.  Degenhardt, J. and Gershenzon, J. Demonstration and characterization of (E)-nerolidol synthase from maize: a herbivore-inducible terpene synthase participating in (3E)-4,8-dimethyl-1,3,7-nonatriene biosynthesis. Planta 210 (2000) 815–822. [DOI] [PMID: 10805454]
4.  Arimura, G., Garms, S., Maffei, M., Bossi, S., Schulze, B., Leitner, M., Mithofer, A. and Boland, W. Herbivore-induced terpenoid emission in Medicago truncatula: concerted action of jasmonate, ethylene and calcium signaling. Planta 227 (2008) 453–464. [DOI] [PMID: 17924138]
[EC created 2010]

Data © 2001–2024 IUBMB
Web site © 2005–2024 Andrew McDonald