The Enzyme Database

Your query returned 1 entry.    printer_iconPrintable version

Accepted name: glycoprotein-fucosylgalactoside α-N-acetylgalactosaminyltransferase
Reaction: UDP-N-acetyl-α-D-galactosamine + glycoprotein-α-L-fucosyl-(1→2)-D-galactose = UDP + glycoprotein-N-acetyl-α-D-galactosaminyl-(1→3)-[α-L-fucosyl-(1→2)]-D-galactose
Other name(s): A-transferase; histo-blood group A glycosyltransferase (Fucα1→2Galα1→3-N-acetylgalactosaminyltransferase); UDP-GalNAc:Fucα1→2Galα1→3-N-acetylgalactosaminyltransferase; α-3-N-acetylgalactosaminyltransferase; blood-group substance α-acetyltransferase; blood-group substance A-dependent acetylgalactosaminyltransferase; fucosylgalactose acetylgalactosaminyltransferase; histo-blood group A acetylgalactosaminyltransferase; histo-blood group A transferase; UDP-N-acetyl-D-galactosamine:α-L-fucosyl-1,2-D-galactose 3-N-acetyl-D-galactosaminyltransferase; UDP-N-acetyl-D-galactosamine:glycoprotein-α-L-fucosyl-(1,2)-D-galactose 3-N-acetyl-D-galactosaminyltransferase
Systematic name: UDP-N-acetyl-α-D-galactosamine:glycoprotein-α-L-fucosyl-(1→2)-D-galactose 3-N-acetyl-D-galactosaminyltransferase
Comments: Acts on blood group substance, and can use a number of 2-fucosyl-galactosides as acceptors.
Links to other databases: BRENDA, EXPASY, Gene, KEGG, MetaCyc, PDB, CAS registry number: 9067-69-0
1.  Kobata, A., Grollman, E.F. and Ginsburg, V. An enzymic basis for blood type A in humans. Arch. Biochem. Biophys. 124 (1968) 609–612. [DOI] [PMID: 5661629]
2.  Takeya, A., Hosomi, O. and Ishiura, M. Complete purification and characterization of α-3-N-acetylgalactosaminyltransferase encoded by the human blood group A gene. J. Biochem. (Tokyo) 107 (1990) 360–368. [PMID: 2341371]
3.  Yates, A.D., Feeney, J., Donald, A.S.R. and Watkins, W.M. Characterization of a blood-group A-active tetrasaccharide synthesized by a blood-group-B gene-specified glycosyltransferase. Carbohydr. Res. 130 (1984) 251–260. [DOI] [PMID: 6434182]
[EC created 1972, modified 1999]

Data © 2001–2024 IUBMB
Web site © 2005–2024 Andrew McDonald